10 October 2015

Hubert wins Race 1 in Jerez but tomorrow it will be a Koiranen GP affair between Hughes and Aitken for the 2015 title


The last and final race of the season to be held tomorrow in Jerez de la Frontera, will award the 2015 Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS title. The in-house Koiranen GP duel will feature Jake Hughes against Jack Aitken. The two are divided by a 5-point gap (25 still available tomorrow) with the Team title already grasped by the Afa Heikkinen squad. Definitely a thrilling finale for the Fast Lane Promotion series which after Race 1 excluded from it the three other drivers that still had overall chances as Matevos Isaakyan, Stefan Riener and Thiago Vivacqua.

The undisputed protagonist today was however the French Anthoine Hubert. Racing with Tech 1 Racing as wild card, Hubert took the pole position in the morning and won Race 1 in the afternoon having led the pack throughout the 16-lap length. Along with him on podium there Aitken, who thus closed his gap from the leader Hughes (P4) and Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports).

No more title chances though for the three other contenders. Starting from Isaakyan, who was third overall before this weekend. The JD Motorsport driver only qualified 13th with his pole position attempt halted by the red flag waived for the crash of Daniele Cazzaniga. The early stages of the race saw him recovering from the back but a contact with the Swiss Hugo De Sadeleer marked his retirement and a four-place grid penalty in Race 2. His team-mate Vivacqua only managed eighth while Riener did not even managed to enter the top-10 still grasping though P3 in the championship.

The Russian Vasily Romanov (Cram Motorsport) once more proved his skills. After having won his first ever race in Monza, he drove consistently and managed fifth ahead of the Indian Jehan Daruvala and the Croatian Martin Kodric, both back in the Series with Fortec Motorsports colors.

«My race was perfect. I had no problems at all. If tomorrow is going to be rainy, it will be even better. I’m trying to focus on the upcoming weekend when I’ll be back in Jerez for the Eurocup. I’m currently fourth». - stated Hubert.

Tomorrow from 9.30 to 9.45 it will be Qualify 2 time. Race 2 is set for 13.45.

The Championship after 15 races (top 5): 1. Jake Hughes GBR (Koiranen GP) 222; 2. Jack Aitken GBR (Koiranen GP) 217; 3. Stefan Riener AUT (Koiranen GP/Fortec Motorsports) 183; 4. Matevos Isaakyan RUS (JD Motorsport) 181; 5. Thiago Vivacqua BRA (JD Motorsport) 179.