06 September 2014

Fourth season's pole for Nyck de Vries in Mugello Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS


Charles Leclerc (Fortec Motorsports) strikes twice in the Friday’s free practice sessions and set fastest tin his Group but the pole goes to Nyck de Vries who sets his fourth pole position of the season. In Mugello, hosting the sixth out of the Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS season’s seven double venues, the Dutch driver racing with Koiranen GP, current Championship leader, will start once more from the top spot.

The quickest in the first Group was Leclerc who lapped in 1’44”481. The grandson of the legendary Emerson Fittipaldi, Pietro Fittipaldi managed second under the chequered flag paying a 251 thousands gap from the rival but quicker of more than a tenth of the British George Russell, racing in the same team as de Vries, with the returning Dennis Olsen (Prema) fourth, and Hugo De Sadeleer (Tech 1 Racing) fifth.

In the second session, de Vries clocked 1’43”917. Second best, six tenths behind, for the other Brazilian Bruno Bonifacio (Prema). On the virtual podium  the Russian Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport), while the other two drivers of Tech 1 Racing, Anthoine Hubert and Egor Orudzhev, rounded the top-5 edging away the Austrian Cram Motorsport driver Stefan Riener.

This afternoon, at 17.10, Race 1 green light (25’ plus a lap). The race will be live streamed on renaultsportitalia.it.

Group A (top 10): 1. Nyck de Vries NDL (Koiranen GP) 1’43”917; 2. Bruno Bonifacio BRA (Prema Powerteam) 1’44”529; 3. Matevos Isaakyan RUS (JD Motorsport) 1’44”716; 4. Anthoine Hubert FRA (Tech 1 Racing) 1’44”745; 5. Egor Orudzhev RUS (Tech 1 Racing) 1’44”902; 6. Stefan Riener AUT (Cram Motorsport) 1’44”969; 7. Li Ye CHN (Koiranen GP) 1’44”988; 8. Martin Kodric CRO (Fortec Motorsports) 1’45”011; 9. Jack Aitken GBR (Fortec Motorsports) 1’45”168; 10. Dario Capitanio ITA (BVM Racing) 1’45”219.

Group B (top 10): 1. Charles Leclerc MC (Fortec Motorsports) 1’44”481; 2. Pietro Fittipaldi BRA (MGR Motorsport) 1’44”732; 3. George Russell GBR (Koiranen GP) 1’44”867; 4. Dennis Olsen NOR (Prema Powerteam) 1’44”971; 5. Hugo De Sadeleer (Tech 1 Racing) 1’45”108; 6. Denis Korneev RUS (JD Motorsport) 1’45”160; 7. Matt Parry GBR (Fortec Motorsports) 1’45”296; 8. Akash Nandy MAL (Tech 1 Racing) 1’45”383; 9. Semen Evstigneev RUS (BVM Racing) 1’45”531; 10. Vasily Romanov RUS (Tech 1 Racing) 1’45”665.

The Championship (top 5): 1. Nyck de Vries NDL (Koiranen GP) 200; 2. Charler Leclerc MC (Fortec Motorsports) 130; 3. Matevos Isaakyan RUS (JD Motorsport) 122; 4. George Russell GBR (Koiranen GP) 77; 5. Simon Gachet FRA (Arta Engineering) 68.